THERE IS NO ALTERNATIVE MY SON

By: Patrick Sanga

1

The Bible in Mathew 26:36-44 saysThen Jesus went with them to a place called Gethsemane, and he said to his disciples, “Sit here, while I go over there and pray.” And taking with him Peter and the two sons of Zebedee, he began to be sorrowful and troubled. Then he said to them, “My soul is very sorrowful, even to death; remain here, and watch with me.”  And going a little farther he fell on his face and prayed, saying, “My Father, if it be possible, let this cup pass from me; nevertheless, not as I will, but as you will.”  And he came to the disciples and found them sleeping.

And he said to Peter, “So, could you not watch with me one hour. Watch and pray that you may not enter into temptation. The spirit indeed is willing, but the flesh is weak.” Again, for the second time, he went away and prayed, “My Father, if this cannot pass unless I drink it, your will be done.” And again he came and found them sleeping, for their eyes were heavy. So, leaving them again, he went away and prayed for the third time, saying the same words again’. 

When his time to be crucified was near, Jesus took his disciples and went with them to a place called Gethsemane for prayers. As it is written three times he prayed that “Father if it be possible, let this cup pass from me”. The cup he was talking about is that of suffering and finally being crucified on our behalf because of our sins. In other way he was saying father please find an alternative of saving this people from the power of sin and Satan, but not through this kind of punshment and death.

4

My dear reader despite the fact that though the criminals were also hanged on the cross, Jesus crucifixion was completely different because he was to be wounded for our transgressions and be crushed for our iniquities. The man whom he had done no violence that deserves such punishment.

Having un understanding of the heavy punishment that he has to go through on our behalf and the fact that he was also a human being he prayed to his father, Father if it be possible let the cup pass way, don’t make me suffer. How did his father respond to his prayer? Reading from Isaiah 53:10 the Bible says “Yes it was the will of the LORD to crush him, he has put him to grief; when his soul makes an offspring for sin, he shall see his offspring; he shall prolong his days; the will of the Lord shall prosper in his hand”.

2

Thus from this verse we now realize that there was no alternative than going through all the sufferings and the cross. The Bible reveals to us that it was the will of the father that his own begotten son should go through such a shameful and sufferings for the lost world.  In a simple way the Father responded to his son saying, Son I know it’s hard, but you must face the cross, because it is the only way for us to save this lost people from the powers of sin and hell.

My dearest reader, what kind of great love is this, indeed this is real the true love, for one to give his own life for his friends. Our Lord Jesus endured all the sufferings because of you and me. Please don’t let his work to be vain, through this message may you surrender your life to Christ because he is the only way to the father, as it is written “I am the way, the truth, and the life!” “Without me, no one can go to the Father (John 14:6).

3

Remember as well, time is coming whereby this grace of salvation that is available to all people freely will come to an end and instead of Jesus being a saviour he will become the judge sitting on his glorious throne (Mathew 25:31-33). How grieving and pitiful will it be for those who did not accept him as Lord and Savior, despite the different opportunities of accepting him they were given.  I’m telling you, on that day you will see another side (face) of Jesus which you cannot even imagine.

The good news is, it’s not too late, there is still another opportunity today. If you want to surrender your life to Christ please pray with me as follows ‘Lord Jesus, thank you because you died on the cross for my sins, I confess that I am a sinner, I repent of all my sins and I ask you to sanctify me by your precious blood, today I accept you as my Lord and Savior, come and take total control of my life’, Amen.

5

Since you have made this decision please do the following as well (a) find a fellow/friend whom you know that is also a believer and then inform him/her about your decision (b) If you do not belong to any church, look/search for any church that also believes in salvation, inform them of your decision as well (c) make sure you read the bible every day, meditate on it, your life will never be the same.

Believers, since we have surrendered our life to Christ, let us take heed that we do not fall, for its written ‘How shall we escape if we neglect such a great salvation? It was declared at first by the Lord, and it was attested to us by those who heard’ (Hebrews 2:3).

The grace of God be with you

Leave a Reply

